top of page

When lovers meet again...

It was on a cold and rainy evening: January 22, 2014. I had a walk from Austerlitz to le Jardin des Plantes and I was now walking down rue Mouffetard, as I decided to take the short and dark passage that leads to rue Jean Calvin. At the moment I reached the passage, I was struck by a quite powerful scene: a young couple was standing still, looking at each other as if they hadn't seen in years. And, while they were keeping some distance, he gently slipped his hand under her rain hood to reach for her cheek. We all have extraordinary moments in our ordinary lives that we cherish and can never forget. I had the feeling that this moment when they finally met that evening, sheltered from the rain under the dark passage between rue Mouffetard and rue Jean Calvin would be one of these moments to them. We all remember finally meeting someone in the rain.

Photography is a powerful form of expression, as photographing something is proving it exists and showing it to the world is spreading truth. As he slipped his hand to her cheek, I walked towards them, put the Leica to my eye and proved to myself that for a handful of seconds, as I pursued my walk in the 5th Arrondissement of Paris, I was the happy witness of a heartwarming moment.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search by Tag
Pas encore de mots-clés.
Follow me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page